3 Ingredient Chocolate Mousse with Raspberry Sauce

wendy-51

Throughout my  life when my family needs a dessert for a special occasion, or simply craving something sweet, I’m the girl they turn to.

I have been baking and cooking all my life. I have taken a few baking classes over the years, but am mostly self taught. Most of my recipes in my repertoire are chocolate based so I decided to focus on those.

If you’re like me, I want to know right away what the ingredients are, to make sure I have them so I will list the ingredients at the top of the post. The full recipe will be provided at the bottom of the post.

Enough about this nonsense, you want to know how to make chocolate mousse with only 3 ingredients!

Ingredients

  • Semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • Heavy cream
  • Raspberry Liqueur

Tools

  • Large glass bowl
  • Spatula
  • Electric hand beater ( or a whisk, some muscles & patience!)
  • Measuring cups
  • Measuring spoon

About the Recipe

The original recipe is a Triple Chocolate Silk Martini with a semi sweet or bitter sweet, milk and white chocolate layer. The first time I made it, the white chocolate layer did not set properly so it did not whip and only stayed as a liquid. Even though I followed the recipe, I had a flop. I have experienced baking flops before and even though it is disheartening at the time, don’t be discouraged and try again.

Although the original recipe had 3 layers, I knew that by making just the milk chocolate layer I would end up with a simple and delicious Chocolate Mousse!

I added the raspberry sauce because Chocolate Mouse and Raspberry Sauce deserve each other.

Funny Story Time

When I was in Junior high, I decided to make a few chocolate recipes one weekend. I have never been a clean baker ever, needless to say the kitchen was covered in chocolate the entire weekend. I was making a chocolate cake.

I mean what could go wrong…

It was an all chocolate cake, chocolate batter, chocolate ganache, chocolate icing, chocolate swirls.

When my family and I finally sat down to enjoy this cake I had worked so hard to make, it tasted AWFUL!!!!!

I had used all bitter chocolate and very little sugar. My family tried to make it look like they were enjoying it while I was passing out slices but when I had a bite I blurted out that it was disgusting. They all quickly agreed.

Life Lesson 1

Don’t give up when you have a recipe flop.

Life Lesson 2

Do not just use bittersweet when baking. To this day I still do not use it all in my baking. Of course having a bite of bittersweet chocolate is a whole different story.

Steps

  1. Measure out the chocolate chips into the glass bowl.wendy
  2. Measure the heavy cream and pour into a saucepan, turn heat to medium, cook until it just starts to boil.wendy-2
  3. Pour heavy cream over the chocolate chips.wendy-3
  4. Measure and pour the raspberry liqueur into the melted chocolate.wendy-5
  5. Stir the hot cream, chocolate chips and raspberry liqueur.wendy-7
  6. Let melted chocolate cool to room temperature THEN place into fridge.
  7. Wait a minimum of 2 hours until the chocolate is cold, do your nails to distract you from the thought of chocolate mousse.
  8. Using the electric beaters, whip the mixture until soft peaks start to form.wendy-45
  9. Place into a cup, top with raspberry sauce if you like, or simply eat it out of the bowl. #nojudgementwendy-52

Chocolate Mousse Recipe

  • 1 bag of semisweet chocolate chips- any brand will do as long as it is real chocolate
  • 2 cups heavy cream/whipping cream
  • Optional:2 oz of Raspberry liqueur- I used Chambord but a raspberry vodka will do just as well

Raspberry Sauce Recipe

Leave a Reply

